Overrated (Day One)

It’s National Poetry Month, and this year I’m participating in NaPoWriMo, which challenges us to write a poem a day.

Today’s suggested–but not required–prompt was to compose a poem based on the first line of another poem.

Overrated

Shall I compare thee to a Summer’s day?
You are sweaty
lazy
stifling
oppressive.
Yet somehow people look forward
to their time with you
though they rarely enjoy it.
Being hot cannot compare
to being warm
or being cool.
Yes, when you’re around
I want to stay inside
with the curtains drawn
and pretend that I am alone
beyond your reach
and I wait for your worst qualities
to dissolve with the onset of evening
when I know you’re about to leave
and I can strip to my underwear
and welcome the soft touch of night
steeling myself for another grueling day
in your company.

20130401-075314.jpg

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, people, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overrated (Day One)

  1. Like like like like and more likes. This was fabulous! You took one of the most famous sticky sweet romantic sonnets in the history of verse and turned it on its ass wih a backward slap to the indruder that threatens the your day of rest with their irritable presence and to whom we give a final one fingered salute by flipping the pillow to the cool side before we go to bed.
    I hate the summer.

Leave a Reply

