Blackout (Day 10, Again)

(Had another one in me.)

Blackout

In my dreams last night
I saw the stars so well
that I could make out constellations
like I did when I was a kid.

They popped, white on deep blue
high contrast twinkles so amazing
that everything else in my dream
stopped and I pointed upward, smiling.

Just as I was searching for Orion
the alarm went off and I woke up
returned to a world where my
blindness paints the night skies black.

When I was in college I would
sneak into Mack Park after midnight
and lay down on a low hill
just absorbing infinity.

Tonight there will be nothing but ink
to peer up into from the back porch
a metaphor for that dark future
where infinity absorbs me.

20130410-181539.jpg

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in eyesight, history, NaPoWriMo, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blackout (Day 10, Again)

  1. Judi Grewell says:

    Your imagery not only paints a wonderful picture, it is also infused with energy.

Leave a Reply

