Misspent

20130905-194526.jpgAll those hours spent
watching television and
playing 8-bit video games
in darkened basement rooms

when I could have been
running through the woods
and hiking mountain trails or
counting the stars with you

have faded away like my sight
with the passage of time
leaving only regret and
fear of losses still to come.

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in eyesight, family, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Misspent

  1. Todd M. Anthony says:

    I can relate to this. I often feel ripped off by being the child of 80s/90s consumerism/video game/TV culture, asking myself “what richness did I inherit from it all?” Sometimes wishing I was born on a farm (though I’m quite sure I would have been miserable). At the same time I hold onto many fond memories of He-Man, Star Wars, Mike Tyson’s Punchout, Zelda, Garbage Pail Cards, Wacky Wall Walkers in my box of Fruit Loops etc… I’m on the fence with how I feel about it all. Cool poem.

    • semiblind says:

      In retrospect, the time with television seems particularly wasted. Rather than making memories, I was turning my brain off as the sand fell through the hourglass (not that I was watching “Days of Our Lives”).

      Your list of pop culture pretty much matches mine…

  2. I just try to embrace what I have now. I attempt to explain to my children the value of taking in the sights of our world. They don’t listen to well to my life lessons. I guess they are a lot like me when I was growing up. It is always easier to see lessons through the rear view windows, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

