Death of the Creative Mind

She used to write poems
like a dandelion spreading seeds
beauty flying in all directions

but now she stares at her laptop
fingers hanging millimeters above keys
never dropping down.

The written word, her earliest lover,
left last week to get a pack of cigarettes
and never came back home.

Fuck it, she decides, turning on the TV.

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in despair, fear, people, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Death of the Creative Mind

  1. The curse of writer’s block!! I love the last stanza, creativity leaves us and goes somewhere unhealthy and when it returns it’s never quite the same.
    I’ve found that writing my works instead of typing them helps prevent/alleviate writer’s block, for whatever reason.
    Wonderfully relatable and conversation poem!
    Andrea Nadine

    • semiblind says:

      Longhand works for you? Is it the slower pace? I write mostly on my iPhone, which is just about the right speed for something meaningful…

      Glad you liked it.

      • Oh god I could never write on my iPhone, my nerves would fray. I like the organic nature of writing longhand (not that digital writing isn’t natural) and also I don’t trust my computer as much as I do my notebooks…they never crash 🙂

      • semiblind says:

        For a long time, the phone was my only internet, so if I wanted to blog it had to be on the phone. (Might explain why most of my pieces aren’t terribly long…)

        When I did NaNoWriMo, I had to switch, though. My one-finger pace is too slow for 1,667 words a day.

      • Oh definitely! Typing on screens can get tedious, I’m certain I’ll get carpal tunnel someday…

Leave a Reply

