Making FROZEN Hot…

20131204-180058.jpg

A movie theater in Florida somehow put a trailer for Lars von Trier‘s upcoming film Nymphomaniac in front of Disney ‘s Frozen. This is, needless to say, not targeted marketing.

Was this the work of some disgruntled theater employee, some high school punk who had just seen Fight Club? Or was some radical adherent to Dogme 95 hoping to plant the seeds of cinematic minimalism in the minds of pre-tween movie-goers? Maybe someone just screwed up. It’s hard to say.

After watching the trailer myself, I can only conclude that, while I would not choose to show my child this clip intentionally, I would be grateful to have an afternoon of animated pap interrupted by it. And, while parents in the article I read sounded shocked, they didn’t sound pissed, which is probably a tacit recognition of the fact that it’s a) not all that graphic and b) fairly intriguing. I’d rather the kid see this than a preview for The Hobbit.

Would a kid even make it ten minutes into a von Trier movie without getting bored? I mean, yeah, Antichrist has a talking fox, but I don’t think that’s enough to carry them past all the character stuff. They’re not going to make it to the part where the woman smashes the man’s testicles with a wood block. Relax. I don’t think Nymphomaniac is the next big playground hit…

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in clusterfuck, entertainment, family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

