What We Wish to Be (Day 8)

(Another NaPoWriMo entry.)

I came to you
because
I wanted to be
a hero.

You were broken,
hurting;
shattered porcelain
I could fix.

Reconstructing
your life
helped me forget my
own problems.

I was gentle,
tender,
secretly selfish
with your pain.

You wanted peace
which I
offered for a price
you never knew.

I molded you
into
something like a real
girl again.

In the process
we built
our relationship
lopsided.

A thoughtful boy
cannot
repair such trauma
with kisses.

Your scars faded,
as did
my desire to be
your savior.

You broke anew
that night
I pushed you too hard
to give back.

You didn’t speak
again
until we pulled up
to your door.

As you got out
I asked
if we’d be okay;
you said no.

20140408-140138.jpg

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in despair, NaPoWriMo, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

