Hanoi, 8/14/09 (Day 14, 2016)

Two weeks into National Poetry Writing Month.  

  

Hanoi, 8/14/09

I finished Of Mice and Men
in one sitting
and watched some music videos
though I didn’t understand
what the singers were saying
and I tried to sleep
knowing it might be the
last good night’s rest
I would have for months
but every car horn
fifteen stories down
returned me to consciousness
and I watched the sun rise
thinking about you
wondering who you were
and who I would help you become
and I will admit
I was afraid 
of not being good enough
or smart enough
to be what you needed.  

Seven years later
this same fear
still occasionally keeps
me awake at night.

  

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in best-laid plans, family, fear, history, NaPoWriMo, people, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hanoi, 8/14/09 (Day 14, 2016)

  1. Julie Ayers says:

    Absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

