I’m Tired of Poems (Day 24, 2017)

This is the 24th day of National Poetry Writing Month.

I’m Tired of Poems

I’m tired of poems about
butterflies and lilac bushes
and hope and love and beauty
all that worn-out shit

I want the poetry of 
blood-spattered curtains
and smoking shotguns
clutched in cold hands
and clenched in gold teeth
I want to read haiku about
hardons and odes to
sodomy so detailed and specific
that God considers bringing back 
fire and brimstone 
as a response

Give me vomit on sidewalks
and scorpions emerging from
rusted-out shower drains
in neighborhoods where
used syringes outnumber grass blades
and arson improves property values

Tell me how you fucked my mother
in an over-full port-a-John 
or describe the texture
and taste
of a tapeworm
extracted through your mouth
anything
anything
anything but 
sunsets and gentle waves 
that remind you of your kids

About semiblind

Bringing you stark existentialism since 1981.
This entry was posted in anger, NaPoWriMo, poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Tired of Poems (Day 24, 2017)

  1. cedricramey says:

    You have a cool blog! Stop by my blog and check me out, you should enjoy it. Have a great day, I’ll make sure to check out your blog daily and I just followed you by the way.

Leave a Reply

